Apprenticeships England

England – SASE Frameworks and New Trailblazer Standards


There are currently two types of Apprenticeships in England:

  • those that follow the Specification of Apprenticeship Standards for England (SASE) Frameworks – these have been created by Sector Skills Councils (SSCs) and set out the minimum requirements for the apprenticeship;
  • New Trailblazer Apprenticeship Standards – that are being designed by groups of employers (known as Trailblazers). These set out the specific skills, knowledge and behaviours required to be competent in specific occupations in their sector.


Under the Apprenticeship Reforms, the new Apprenticeship Standards will replace the SASE Frameworks.  Each Framework will remain in place until it is replaced by a Standard that have been approved for delivery.

A number of new Standards have already been approved for delivery and a number of Standards are in development, across a number of sectors. The full switchover to the new Trailblazer apprenticeships is expected to occur by 2020, although this date is subject to change.

Find out more about Apprenticeship Reforms

Find out more about the new Trailblazer Apprenticeships which we offer



If you have any questions about Apprenticeships in England or would like to discuss further, please get in touch.
Contact Us